Interesting links.

How 19th Century Prostitutes Were Among the Freest, Wealthiest, Most Educated Women of Their Time‘: “In the nineteenth century, a woman who owned property, made high wages, had sex outside of marriage, performed or received oral sex, used birth control, consorted with men of other races, danced, drank, or walked alone in public, wore makeup, perfume, or stylish clothes — and was not ashamed — was probably a whore”.

How To Be An Accountable Ally, by the punchily named Abortion Gang.

A piece on the stigmatisation of sex workers from the Pambazuka News: ‘“I’ve come to terms with my own sexuality, I think. I’ve definitely sort of realised that it is just, well in my opinion, a physical act of pleasure. It’s OK for a woman to actually enjoy sex. There I’ve grown in leaps and bounds, but just coming from … a conservative upbringing, you know as a woman you are brought up not to sleep around. And then you’re a slut and a whore and so on…”’

Sex Workers In The Neighbourhood‘: “When Jesus was asked about which part of the Law is most important, he answers, “Love God, love your neighbor.” My friend and I have had lots of conversations about being a neighbor to the individuals who are trading sex. What would that look like? How would it play out?”

Why We Should Teach Young Men About The Sex Industry‘, is a really interesting piece from an ‘out’ client. I’d love for more clients to come out, because that would demonstrate how profoundly, boringly normal and non-monsterous they are, but obviously its scary. Props to this guy!

… And also this guy. Chris Dangerfield – Sex Tourist, is another piece by an out client. Also ace. Thanks pal!

And finally, this, from twitter:

Which made me think about how most of the work I’ve done for women’s organisations over the years has been unpaid. And now some of those same women’s organisations think they can tell me about my own exploitation. Funny world.

Leave a Reply

